The 2019 North American Safety Contest Finalists

NTTC is proud to announce the finalists for its 2019 North American Safety Contest. These 18 carriers and private fleets produced the best safety records in their mileage classes, operating with the fewest accidents per million mile rate and the lowest personnel incident rates.

“Congratulations to these first-class carriers and fleets for winning their respective mileage categories. This year’s contest so far has been especially competitive, so these carriers and their whole teams should be very proud of their safety performance in one of the safest segments in trucking,” said NTTC President Daniel Furth. “I’d like to thank our sponsor for this contest, Heil Trailer International, for their continued support of our safety program which strengthens this important pillar of NTTC’s mission.”


North American Safety Contest Grand Award Winners

For-Hire Carrier Class:

Over 90 Million
Trimac Transportation, Calgary, AB
40 – 90 Million
Oakley Transport, Lake Wales, FL
31.5 – 40 Million
J & M Tank Lines, Birmingham, AL
18.5 – 31.5 Million
Andrews Logistics Texas LP, Southlake, TX
15 – 18.5 Million
Atlantic Bulk Carrier Corp., Providence Forge, VA
12.5 – 15 Million
RST Industries Limited, Saint John, NB
7 – 12.5 Million
G&D Trucking, Inc. / Hoffman Transportation, LLC, Channahon, IL
5 – 7 Million
Newman Carriers, Fairmont City, IL
3.5 – 5 Million
Iowa Tank Lines, Roosevelt, UT
Less than 3.5 Million
Vickery Transportation Inc., Vickery, OH
Transmark, Greenburg, IN
Glendenning Brothers Inc., Stillman Valley, IL
J&S Transport Co., Inc., Lynn, MA
AG Energy Transport, LLC, Buchanan, MI

Private Fleet Class:

Over 90 Million
Gemini Motor Transport LP, Oklahoma City, OK
18.5 – 31.5 Million
CLI Transport, LP, Altoona, PA
3.5 – 5 Million
LSP Transport, LLC, Bryan, TX
Less than 3.5 Million
Poolsure, Houston, TX


These carriers now move on to the second stage of the contest where they compete for the coveted Heil Trophy in two broader divisions: The Sutherland Division for operations at or under 15 million miles, and the Harvison Division for operations over 15 million miles. The Mileage Divisions are named after the association’s first two and longest-serving presidents: Austin Sutherland (1945-1972) and his successor, Cliff Harvison (1972-2005). All Grand Award Winners and the winners of the Heil Trophy will be recognized during NTTC’s Safety and Security Council Meeting, June 16 – 18, 2020 in Biloxi, MS.


The North American Safety Contest is sponsored by: