Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champion Announced


Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champion
Announced at NTTC's Annual Conference & Exhibits

Arlington, VA., May 8, 2017 – NTTC hosted its 69th Annual Conference & Exhibits at the Fairmont Chicago, Millennium Park from April 30-May 2, 2017. Todd Stine, a professional driver for Carbon Express for the past 7 years, was presented the 4th Annual NTTC Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champion Award. The award recognizes eight model tank truck driver Champion Finalists and one Grand Champion who serves the industry with the safest transportation of liquid and dry bulk commodities.  The average day in the life of a professional tank truck driver is one of the most challenging and demanding in all of trucking. The Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Award was established to recognize the best of the best in the tank truck industry, sponsored by Baldwin & Lyons, Inc.

Mr. Stine, a 16-year trucking veteran, accepted the award in the company of seven other professional tank truck driver champion finalists.  The eight drivers were chosen based on accident-free miles, industry and company leadership, communication and public speaking skills, and overall industry knowledge. Mr. Stine has driven an impressive 1.6 million accident-free miles. He is a member of the American Trucking Associations’ America’s Road Team Captains and was part of the group of truckers who visited President Trump in March. He has also been a driver trainer and been part of the Share the Road and Healthy Trucker programs, a Special Olympics coach, a volunteer for Project Winter Warmth and is an active member in the Healthy Fleet Challenge.

The 2016-17 Champion Finalists:




Todd Stine

Carbon Express Inc.

Wharton, NJ

Rayvon Truitt

Eagle Transport Corporation

Rocky Mount, NC

Dennis Lathrom

Foodliner Inc.

Dubuque, IA

Brian Jennings

Grammer Industries, Inc.

Columbus, IN

Robert Black

K-Limited Carrier, Ltd.

Toledo, OH

Stephen Sorenson

Quality Carriers Inc.

Tampa, FL

Kelly Lien

Solar Transport

W. Des Moines, IA

Daniel Byars

United Petroleum Transports

Oklahoma City, OK


“Congratulations to Todd Stine for this tremendous achievement as our grand champion this year,” said NTTC President Dan Furth.  “Todd’s recognition secured his place in trucking history as one of the industry’s most decorated professional drivers.  I really look forward to working with him to give voice to the NTTC’s safety mission.”

“In just our fourth contest year, Todd stands as the second grand champion to win on his second try which really underscores the quality of our driver finalists as a group and his personal commitment to his craft,” said NTTC Chairman Lee Miller of Miller Transporters.  “On behalf of my fellow carriers, I want to thank our sponsor Baldwin & Lyons for helping us appropriately recognize our industry’s best.”

National Tank Truck Carriers, Inc. (NTTC) is a trade association composed of over 550 companies that specialize in bulk transportation services by cargo tank throughout North America.  The tank truck industry generates roughly 5.1% of all truck freight revenue, but that represents 25.6% of all truck freight in terms of tonnage due to the heavy nature of the liquid bulk products handled.

To Champion Safety and Success in the Tank Truck Community Through Advocacy and Education

Megan Kmiotek
Manager of Member Services
National Tank Truck Carriers, Inc.
(703) 838-1960